Client Reviews.  

I am humbled by some of the nice things clients have said about my services.  And, I am prouder of the satisfaction I brought to these clients than I am of all of my professional awards and qualifications.  While everyone's experience may be different, if I work with you I hope you will be just as pleased as these reviewers

 

The following are some of the unedited reviews posted about me by clients on AVVO.COM, typos and all.  [Wikipedia says "Avvo.com is the leading legal online marketplace, making legal easier by connecting consumers and lawyers." ] All of my reviews are also posted on AVVO and can be viewed at  http://www.avvo.com/attorneys/91423-ca-kenneth-ziskin-151823/reviews.html.]   

 

  • Trust and Estate

5.0 stars

Posted by Linda
May 25, 2019

I contacted Attorney Ziskin to discuss my mother’s trust and estate.

Attorney Ziskin put me at ease at once. He was professional, thorough, warm, and genuinely interested in making sure my needs were met. He helped me navigate through all my questions until I had a clear understanding of my next steps...

 

  • Ms Isabel Ferrer

5.0 stars

Posted by anonymous
March 25, 2019

What a good human being! So patient, understanding, and kind. Took great compassion towards my family situation and made me feel much more relaxed. We feel that we truly found the right lawyer.

 

  • knowledgable with thorough explanations

5.0 stars

Posted by Jo
January 30, 2019

Ken returned my call same day, provided knowledgeable information and took the time to explain. He was friendly and helpful and offered usable suggestions. Really appreciate. thank you!

 

  • Expert law advice

5.0 stars

Posted by anonymous
January 9, 2019

Attorney Ziskin is a shining star in the elder care law community. I found him to be very knowledgeable and compassionate about my particular circumstance. He is an extremely good listener and has a wealth of experience and expertise in navigating and understanding all the complexities that come with difficult and unique issues that can arise while trying to protect elderly loved ones. I highly recommend Ken.

 

  • property tax assessment

5.0 stars

Posted by George K
November 8, 2018

Attorney Ziskin was extremely helpful. He was efficient with my time and addressed the property tax assessment concerns in a timely manner, communicating with the assessors office about my issue and obtaining confirmation that vital forms where received and set for review. Kenneth was sensitive to my need to economize and was generous by charging fairly and being considerate and professional, clarifying my options to seek alternative cost saving services pending the complexity of the case.

 

  • Call Kenneth

5.0 stars

Posted by Veronica Barclay
March 5, 2018

Was very helpful and informative he gave me free legal information that got me on the right track thank you Kenneth

 

  • The Best in the West

5.0 stars

Posted by Marcella
December 22, 2017

Ken Ziskin is thoughtful of my circumstances and sensitive to my feelings. He was amazing at protecting my interests during my life as much as after life. I am so happy to have chosen him to represent my estate. He provided me with documents as well an e-copy of my documents. His wife, Hinda, supports the whole effort and is there to help. I appreciate them both.

 

  • Estate Planning

5.0 stars

Posted by Jerry
November 10, 2017

I have been reading Ken Ziskin’s articles in the Apartment Owners Association magazine for a number of years and was always intrigued and impressed by the topics and his knowledge. Ken, and his assistant, Hinda, sponsored a seminar on Estate Planning for Property Owners which I recently attended. Again, there was excellent information presented of the do’s and don’ts on a number of topics such as how to hold title appropriate insurance coverage, pros and cons of using LLCs, Capital Gains Bypass Trust, and protecting heirs from a variety of issues.
As a follow up to the seminar, my wife and I scheduled a free consultation with Ken where we reviewed our situation and discussed a number of points relative to our needs. We already have a trust which Ken was kind to review. Since we have no children our Estate Planning is simpler than most and Ken said that while there would be some benefit to rewriting the trust, the benefit would be negligible. We also discussed several other areas which could stand further examination by my wife and me.
Our needs today don’t necessitate significant changes, but it was very reassuring to have a review by a competent, honest attorney. And when our needs change (and they always do!) Ken will be first on our list to consult. I would without hesitation recommend Ken to anyone exploring Estate Planning. You will be well advised!

 

  • phone consultation

5.0 stars

Posted by Nathan
June 20, 2017

Was referred (more specifically, highly recommended for his expertise in property tax situations and successes with other AOA property owners) to Ken Ziskin by CA AOA. Ken's consultation appropriately and succinctly guided us. He even directed us so that we probably wouldn't need legal representation. If all doesn't work out with the assessor's office, he offered to take our case. Would highly recommend his services

 

  • Relieved my Trust has been "Re-stated" by Attorney Kenneth Ziskin

5.0 stars

Posted by Coral 
May 16, 2017

Many years ago I drew up an inexpensive trust and it had none of the provisions I desired today. I went to one of Kenneth Ziskin's "Apartment Owners Association" lectures and decided I definitely needed to make changes to my existing trust. After consulting with Ken, I found out many of the provisions in my existing trust were outdated and not enforceable. 
Ken helped me make decisions about issues I had never even thought about, and he really cared about my concerns and making my new trust work for my goals, even though he wanted to stress the importance of tax consequences. 
I got an additional perspective on how to structure the trust from Hinda, Ken's wife who very efficiently helps Ken. I am divorced and single with children of my own and an extended family. (As with many people, it's complicated). 
I would thoroughly recommend Kenneth Ziskin for Estate Planning, Wills and Trusts.

  • SUPERB LAWYER

5.0 stars

Posted by daniel 
May 11, 2017

soooo good. I consulted with him. He was patient, kind, knowledgeable. Most importantly, he did not rush me off the phone like most lawyers would have.

Good guy, caring, cost-effective, knowledgeable

5.0 stars

Posted by Tom 
January 19, 2017

I spoke with Ken for 30 minutes at no charge to discuss a matter involving rental real estate, property taxes, and estate planning. He confirmed some things for me, corrected some things about which I was mistaken, offered to represent me at a very fair price, AND referred me to a specialist who could do exactly what I needed at a slightly lower price. As a financial adviser I have had the opportunity to brainstorm with many attorneys for the last 30 years, and Ken brainstormed some really clever issues about this case, and is a super-likeable guy who speaks plain language. Highly recommended!

 

  • honest, insightful, straight forward

5.0 stars

Posted by Ankica 
September 5, 2016

Ken reviewed our 10+ year old trust and interviewed us to understand our goals and needs. He provided us with an honest assessment which included an outline of what worked in our current trust and provided guidance on what might be worth updating and why. After further clarification and discussion, we had an actionable plan which included an offer to refer us to a specialist .

 

  • great consultation

5.0 stars

Posted by Tom 
July 21, 2016

After reading a fine article Mr. Ziskin wrote in the Apartment Owners Association magazine, I called his office to arrange a consultation. He returned my call promptly and then spent considerable time speaking with me. He demonstrated a depth of knowledge on estate planning and trusts that reassured me that I was getting really sound advice. Mr. Ziskin was easy to speak with and he communicated in non-legaleze, taking the time to be sure I understood the information he gave me. I feel confident his advice directed me in the proper direction and will serve me and my family very well. I recommend him highly.

 

  •  Five Stars

Posted by Oren 
July 1, 2016

Had the pleasure of speaking with Ken on the phone. Very knowledgeable and nice. Took the time to speak with me about an issue my wife and I are having with a tenant. Ken is one of the good ones.

 

  • Solid Estate Plan

5.0 stars

Posted by Norm 
April 18, 2016

I found Ken to be very knowledgeable, professional, and extremely patient answering my questions. 
I was not that familiar with legal issues regarding estate planning, so we corresponded thru emails asking for clarification going back and forth for several months until I was comfortable with our estate plan. 
In our Estate Plan, Ken provides an overview section where he gives advice on how to minimize estate taxes. He also provides a summary for each section of the Living Trust that explains what each contains and it’s purpose. Our Estate Plan includes our wills, POA, funding instructions, and health directives all contained in a nicely organized binder. 
In the end, we worked out what steps needed to be performed after I pass away, and when my wife passes away. You will be surprised how much is involved to settle an estate to minimize estate taxes, income taxes, asset transfers, step-up in tax basis, avoiding property reassesment, etc. There are a lot of issues involved as we age including health issues and incapacity. Ken covers all that in our Estate Plan documents. 
Regarding our Living Trust, it provides flexibility after my passing for my wife to either transfer our assets to an irrevocable trust (which would provide legal protection, but requires more maintainence) or transfer them to a simple probate-avoidance trust. This gives us time to discuss how we want to distribute our assets, rather than cast everything in concrete now. 
I feel very good about our Estate Plan and knowing my family is protected from undue influences after I pass away. So if you are looking for a solid estate plan, I would highly recommend Ken Ziskin. 
It is a pleasure working with both Ken and Hinda.

 

  • Wonderful insightful input

5.0 stars

Posted by Shaun 
April 13, 2016

I spoke with Ken about an informal question in regards to LLCs and income property. I was astounded about the insight and depth of knowledge. I have heard other attorneys speak and therefore have some understanding. However Ken clearly knew much more than the usual attorney. I look forward to working with Ken in the near future.

 

  •  

  • Antiquated Trust Revisited

Posted by Bella & John 
December 26, 2015

My husband and I have been looking for years to restate our much needed Trust. After listening to Ken at a HOA Seminar I rushed home and told my husband I found our lawyer. Within a week we were sitting in his office listening and questioning him about our needs and concerns. We liked what we heard. We felt he had the knowledge and expertise in all the areas we needed--Law, Trust, and Real Estate. 
We had no fear or regrets in retaining Ken to do the job. We were very pleased and Impressed with the final result. A great experience! We feel we've found a new friend and confidant!

•             Expert Estate Planning

5.0 stars

Posted by Anna

December 23, 2015

 Hired attorney

My family used Ken to provide estate planning services, and he was truly exceptional. He is very knowledgeable and was happy to answer any questions we had. We felt very comfortable with him. Not only is he a brilliant lawyer, he is a really nice person whom I admire. I have already recommended him to a friend.

 

•             Provided Excellent Estate Planning and Trust

5.0 stars

Posted by Kent

December 22, 2015

 Hired attorney

My wife and I used Ken Ziskin to help update our estate planning and trust. We were very pleased with the significant time Ken spent to understand our current situation and concerns. He made sure we fully understood all the important technical aspects of what he recommended and that were comfortable with the document. The final trust and associated documents accomplished all our personal planning objectives and we were very happy with the overall process and product.

 

•             Estate Planning for property owners

5.0 stars

Posted by Isaac

December 21, 2015

 Hired attorney

My wife and I are very fond of Ken's approach in our estate planning. He is patient to listening to our situations with our family and our finances. We feel that Ken is trustworthy and is exercising his utmost fiduciary duty to his clients.

 

•             Living Trust A Must

5.0 stars

Posted by Albert

December 21, 2015

 Hired attorney

I had very little knowledge of the importance of establishing a living trust. I was referred to Ken by a mutual friend. Ken was very knowledgable . He made the process easy to understand while pointing out the details. I'm comfortable now knowing that this important matter has been taken care of.

 

•             We've all heard lawyer jokes ...

5.0 stars

Posted by Roma

December 20, 2015

 Hired attorney

We've all heard lawyer jokes, and we've probably repeated them — but Ken Ziskin is exempt from lawyer jokes. Ken has guided my family through the murky miasma of wills and family trusts. He has rectified other lawyer's blunders with skill and dignity. And because of that, I pay his invoice with a smile.

 

•             A wonderful legal experience.

5.0 stars

Posted by Sandy

December 20, 2015

 Hired attorney

Ken updated our existing family trust and handled the adoption of my adult step-daughter, who I helped raise since she was 9.

He guided us through important decisions, listening and making recommendations pertaining to our needs and the sizes of our estate and family.

Ken has proven to be knowledgeable, detailed, concerned and responsive to our needs. I highly recommend Ken and his wife, Hinda, for family trust, estate planning, adoption and other related legal and income tax issues.

 

•             Wish we discovered Ken sooner

5.0 stars

Posted by Keith

December 18, 2015

 Hired attorney

Ken has allowed me to enjoy the peace of mind to know our estate is impeccably planned for in a variety of situations...

He updated an existing plan from our original 'firm' from over 15 years ago (multiple lawyers) and made it a tailored 'proactive' document that is specific too our needs yet allows maximum flexibility assuming the estate continues to grow modestly.

I felt a true bond through the process and was impressed that he is also capable of giving a variety of referrals that are not commission based in order to enhance aspects of our wealth planning which we did not consider.

He was quite diligent in understanding our overall financial position as opposed to our original firm which seemed to want to update their fairly boilerplate document with guidelines that were not personal to our situation.

I believe the time we spent with him and his wife in the process gave us a very good feeling that either of has a diligent, professional adviser who is quite enjoyable to consult with going forward and would refer him without any hesitation!

 

•             Review of Estate Planning article in April, 2015 issue of Apartment Owners Association News

5.0 stars

Posted by Bob

April 14, 2015

My wife and I have owned 13 units in Santa Clara County for decades--and we are still young! I have grappled with the issues of:

1) retaining community property ownership benefits

2) maintaining (over generations) the property tax benefits of Prop 13 (Watch out for LLCs!)

3) step up basis at death (amazing for the kids!)

 

Never have I seen these issues presented all together and so clearly before. If you want to preserve wealth for your children, read this article and have your estate plan updated by an attorney who knows the pitfalls of California Real Estate. Thanks, Ken for the valuable information. I am sending the article to my kids to reinforce what I have taught them.

 

•             Mr. Ziskin is amazing!!!

5.0 stars

Posted by Brittney

December 31, 2014

He is very kind and very helpful. He gave us really great advice and referred us to a lawyer who was on the right side of the law. He treated us with respect when a lot of people didn't. Mr. Ziskin is a godsend!

 

•             Highly Recommended!

5.0 stars

Posted by Cindy

December 30, 2014

Ken Ziskin is a hardworking, smart attorney who understands the matter at hand, and goes above and beyond in his work. I was at the end of my rope regarding a dispute between myself and another homeowner in my condominium complex. Thanks to Ken, not only did we resolve the issue entirely, but we never had to go to court.

A+

 

•             Great Estate Planning Attorney

5.0 stars

Posted by Helen

December 29, 2014

I asked Ken to prepare a living trust, will and power of attorney for my elderly parents five years ago. He was very forthright and thorough in his dealings with us. We felt very comfortable with him and knew we were getting excellent legal advice. He has been a great resource for years. I highly recommend Ken for estate planning needs.

 

•             I highly recommend Ken Ziskin

5.0 stars

Posted by a client

December 29, 2014

I am a client of Ken Ziskin. He has been my attorney for over 15 years. His legal advice and strategic estate planning has provided me and my family with a sense of well being for our future. He is reliable, trustworthy and highly knowledgeable in his field of legal expertise. He responds quickly to questions and worked diligently to find the right solution for our family member's individual needs. He is available when needed. I highly recommend him.

 

•             Very Satisfied Client

5.0 stars

Posted by Jerome

December 29, 2014

I was badly in need of tax advice and was fortunate enough to get it from Ken Ziskin. The problem was how to manage my estate now and at the same time provide for my heirs while keeping the tax bite at a minimum (for both my heirs and me). Ken was creative and attentive and thoroughly knowledgeable and came up with an estate plan that did the job. He used his time very efficiently and answered all questions promptly and fully. I wholeheartedly recommend him.

 

•             Superb attorney for setting up wills and trust and estate planning

5.0 stars

Posted by Peng

December 28, 2014

My wife and I have the good fortune to have Ken Ziskin set up our wills and living trust and subsequent to that an Irrevocable trust for our children. Ken is a brilliant and methodical man, meticulous in every detail so that we feel that we are covered for foreseeable events and probable changes in the tax laws. We set up an Intentionally Defective Grantor's Trust investing in real estate and he explained each step of the process to us. He performed a careful review of the investment documents, guided us with the appointment of a Trustee and educated our beneficiaries and ourselves for our complete understanding. We never felt rushed and no question was too trivial. Being a medical specialist involved in both private practice and academia I easily recognize in Ken a thorough professional and a sought-after expert in his field but more importantly the uncommon expert who can translate his expertise into well-constructed vehicles for the benefit of his clients. We recommend Ken with the greatest enthusiasm and plan to engage him for other aspects of our estate planning.

 

•             Excellent Choice !

5.0 stars

Posted by Janice

December 28, 2014

We met with Ken and his wife Hinda for an entire afternoon and attended two seminars presented by Ken before engaging him as our attorney. By that time we felt very much at ease and felt that we could easily work with him and are very happy that we made that decision. Ken has used his excellent knowledge and forward thinking ability to help us develop a an estate plan and trusts that will help us to avoid estate taxes and income taxes as much as possible. He tries to take into account many scenarios which might occur in family dynamics so that upon our death our wishes can be fulfilled . He includes protection for us as trustees and also for our heirs. We like the way he got to know us personally so that our trust could be designed to meet our specific needs and desires. You will not be disappointed!

 

•             Good Choice in Advisor

5.0 stars

Posted by Martin

December 28, 2014

Ken came to me recommended by a trusted colleague, so I expected him to be sharp. This expectation was met. What I didn't anticipate was to leave our meetings feeling "smarter". I appreciated the manner in which Ken provided a map of strategies for our estate planning in a way that I fully comprehended. Accounting for family needs and a desire to make philanthropic contributions , he really heard my questions/concerns and addressed them fully.

I don't usually write reviews but I'm happy to in this instance -

I am confident I chose an excellent advisor and that we planned the right course for me and my family.

 

•             Happy Client!!!

5.0 stars

Posted by Zora

December 27, 2014

I highly recommend Ken for your estate planning needs. He is knowledgeable, thorough, responsive, intelligent and most importantly to me, very respectful of my time and patient. Ken takes the time to explain his thinking and strategies in words that a layman can understand. One of his best asset besides his intellect is his wife, Hinda. They are a good team to have on your side.

 

•             Trust and LLC matters

5.0 stars

Posted by Dave

April 12, 2014

I worked with Mr. Ziskin and legal matters that involved a Trust and LLC issues. He was very knowledgeable, understanding and could explain the complex legal garcon in plain English that anyone could then understand. He seemed to take a real interest and cared about my concerns and issues. I would highly recommend him since I feel he is the best of the 10+ lawyers I have worked with in the past.

 

•             Estate Plan

5.0 stars

Posted by Richard

April 11, 2014

Our initial meeting was held to review what was required to develop an Estate Plan. An Estate Planning Worksheet Booklet was used to help identify various details. A meeting was held with family members to ensure satisfactory decisions. I have every confidence that The Plan will satisfy my concerns for an amicable transfer of my assets.

© 2020 by Kenneth A. Ziskin   "Family Wealth Strategies", "Family Wealth Strategies" and "Beyond the Living Trust" are service marks of Esatate Planning Lawyer Kenneth A. Ziskin.  All rights reserved.

Call Estate Planning and Tax Attorney Ken Ziskin at 818-988-0949 to arrange a consultation about estate planning to meet your goals for your wealth, save estate taxes and, in the right case, save income taxes